Answer to Yourself

by wildfeministappears

I try to keep my anger in check most days.  I’m not perfect, but I try not to let the weight of the world pull me down and make me bitter, because no work can get done with bitterness.  However, today has not been a good day for feminism, and I was spiraling out of control with rage (particularly after a nasty comment left on one of my other blogs), until I saw this picture.

Image

This picture was on Everyday Feminism, a facebook page I highly recommend.

I suppose I should form my anger carefully.  Just saying “fuck you” to every article I’ve read today hasn’t fixed anything.

So, to those trouncing on the good name of equality for all, I have a message for you.

There is no way for you to win this fight.  Your attempts thus far to bring us down have been futile.  We have only grown stronger breaking the chains that you put us in. 

It is not your imagination.  We are taking over.

I don’t hate you.  I hate your actions.  I hate your desperate attempts to hold on to what you think was the past and what you think are your morals.  I will be here for you when you change your ways.  I will accept you into the fold of equality, because I believe that people have the right to a better life, a happier life, a more fulfilled life. 

You don’t deserve those things right now, because you’re wallowing in your own vile misrepresentations of ethics. 

Your fear is normal, but your actions are reprehensible.  Fear does not have to lead to evil, but clearly the low road is the only option your laziness will allow you. 

You’re lazy because you’re stagnant.  You refuse to take steps towards changing, refuse to learn new ways of living.  Reformation is difficult, and you refuse to use the tools at your disposal to help start that reformation.

I’m tired.  Some days I don’t want to get up and face the world, and some days I don’t.  But I still find a way to help when I can.  I still use the tools at my disposal to educate people about current events.  And I always try to support freedom and equality for all.

My life, my body, my choice.  Their lives, their bodies, their choices.

And yes, this is your life, your body, and your choices.  But are you really following your choices?  Or are you being chained by your own culture, family, friends, workplace. religion?  Is it really your choice to hurt others?  Do you really look in the mirror each day and say to yourself, “Today I want to crush the freedom of others simply because I believe differently than them.  Today I want to walk away from the moral compass and hurt others for not being the same as me.”?

This last bit is for everyone.

Look at yourself in the mirror and explain to yourself why you are doing what you are doing.  Ask yourself these questions.

Is it my choice, or is it a decision based on pressure from another source?

Is my choice going to hurt others, and if it is, am I ready to commit to causing harm to others for my own self-gratification?

Is my choice going to help others, and if it is, am I ready to commit to being there for others and accept their choices regardless of how I feel about them?

Am I willing to defend my choice?

Do I have good reasoning for my choice?

Am I ashamed of my choice at all?

Am I unabashedly joyful about my choice?

Does my choice obstruct another person’s freedom?

Answer to yourself every fucking day. 

 

