Positive Social Media to Watch

by wildfeministappears

It’s time to be thankful.  And I am.  I’m thankful for my internship with Planned Parenthood, I’m thankful that I was able to be a full part of the election experience, I’m thankful that we’re finally getting to be a diverse government, and I’m especially thankful for everyone who’s put up with me these last few months.

And as the rush of the election slowly drains away into a mild fear of backlash, I’ve made my way to more positive places in my usual social media.

Who Needs Feminism? is a facebook page that updates everyday with pictures of people who are celebrating their lives as feminists.  Anyone can contribute to the page and let them know why they need feminism!

Everyday Feminism is a facebook page and a website that talks about all the little ways that you can be a feminist.  They have quotes, pictures, articles, and questions that stimulate your everyday feminist!

“You don’t have to be pretty. You don’t owe prettiness to anyone. Not to your boyfriend/spouse/partner, not to your co-workers, especially not to random men on the street. You don’t owe it to your mother, you don’t owe it to your children, you don’t owe it to civilization in general. Prettiness is not a rent you pay for occupying a space marked ‘female.'” — Diana Vreeland

Gossip is a form of emotional and verbal bullying that many people minimize. While you may not be pushing someone into a locker or stealing their milk money, it’s extremely hurtful to the target’s self esteem, mental health and friendships. Learn some tips on how to speak out against it.

I’ll get back to my usual blogs soon enough!  But for right now, I hope everyone is enjoying their weeks!  Happy Thanksgiving!

