Calm Down and Stop Hating

by wildfeministappears

Okay, I can’t keep to myself anymore.  It’s time for a good old fashioned rant.

 

Hey anti-feminists.  How’s it going?  Seething in your hate for me right now because I have a different opinion from you?  I wish I could say that I’m sorry, but I’m not.  I’ve spent this past week looking at nothing but hate for feminists.

How proud you are to hate us.

How you wish we would just let men take back their rightful place.

How selfish we are for wanting to join in on national conversations.

I hear you.  Sort of.  It’s kind of hard to get past all the base insults you keep throwing around.  You keep saying that all we do is throw around insults, while you yourselves keep calling us sheep, bitches, worthless…

You mock us and ask others to join in the hate.  Not two weeks ago I saw a post that was laughing at feminists for sending their support to others who were going to a rally.  What was there to be mocked?

I particularly cringe at the stories that start with, “As we all know”, like everyone has the same exact experience and opinion as you, and feminists are just some creepy sub-species that works to devour reason.

I don’t know why you think it’s okay to tell feminists to shut our mouths while you spew hate.  Why is your opinion the only good one?  How all-knowing could you possibly be?  Do you see yourself as perfect, as God-like?  You must be right because that is the opinion in your head?

That’s pretty damn arrogant.

I know I’m not perfect.  Sometimes I miss parts of conversations, or I confuse statistics.  But I correct myself.  I let other people talk and have their opinions.  I understand that people have different viewpoints from me.

All I ask is that people don’t live life to hurt other people.  But that’s all I’ve seen this week.  People just hating other people, trying to hurt them because they’re different.

Where has the love gone in your life?  Why are you so angry?

Let me tell you why I’m a feminist.  I want to help people.  I want to help the poor get the health care that they need to make their lives better.  I want to expose human trafficking so that it can be stopped.  I want to help create a world where people can walk out onto the streets without being beaten, harassed, raped, kidnapped, killed, or bullied for being a certain gender or living a certain way.  I want safety for future generations.  I want happiness for the people that I love, and people I don’t even know.

It all starts with education and understanding.  It continues with healthy conversations and actions.  I don’t mind that you have a different opinion than me; I just wish that you wouldn’t do it with hate and anger.

So, and I say this with all seriousness, calm down.  I know there is some common ground that we can land on.

/endrant

