Saudi Arabia’s New Project

by wildfeministappears

Yesterday I found a story that fascinated me.  The anthropologist in me wants to study this story from the very beginning, but the undergrad in me knows that without previous research, I’ll never get it approved for my capstone.  So, I’m just going to work on it here!

Saudi Arabia has found a way to work around Sharia law and allow its educated women to move into the workforce.  The project should start next year, in the Eastern part of Hofuf, and should create about 5000 jobs just for the women.

How are they doing this, you ask?  They’re creating an entirely woman run city.

That’s right.  The only way they can find to allow their women to work is to bring them into an area where men will no longer be allowed to go.  Women will be working on all parts of the work process, including managerial, and the project should bring about 133 million dollars into the economy.

To be honest, I am nervous about this project.  Violence against women, especially women trying to gain or who have an education, is horrifically prevalent.  Many of them will probably be walking to that area alone, and call me pessimistic, but in many violent areas women are grabbed and assaulted when they walk anywhere, and I’m afraid this will be no different.

I’ve never heard of another project like this, so I’m anxious and excited to see how it will work out and change the culture.  I’m also curious about what culture will develop in that area.    I’ll probably be posting about it whenever I find new information, so expect updates!

Related Links

The Raw Story

Guardian

The Jane Dough

RT

NWO Truth

New York Daily News

