Unite Women

by wildfeministappears

I feel like I should have done this awhile ago.  I’d like to talk to you today about a great organization that I work with!

Unitewomen.org started with the mission of rallying people together in support against anti-equality legislation.  We had rallies across America on April 28th, and it was a huge success.  Rain or shine, we all took to our streets and let people know that we were tired of having our rights trampled.

Today, Unitewomen.org is working to bring more people together.  We’ve created groups in each state urging people to vote out of office those who would attack our rights.  We have campus groups, state groups, blogging groups, meetings via google, twitter accounts, and basically a huge amount of amazing people working non-stop to make America a more equal place to live.  I’m grateful everyday that I get to work with the people that I do.  They’re funny, intelligent, politically and socially aware, and committed to the cause.

Unfortunately, many people have dropped off since the rally, and we are regrouping so that we can have groups on campuses.  Naturally, we can’t start a group on a campus without being a student there, so we need volunteers to take up the cause.  It’s really a lot of fun.  I can express myself however I want in a non-judgmental environment, and there is always something to do!  And even if you aren’t on a campus, you can take up the role of state director, and help people stay aware of what is going on in their state.  After all, stories slip through the cracks all the time, and then we don’t notice when our rights have been subtly chipped away.

I’m not trying to pressure anyone here; I just really believe in this group and I want to see it succeed.  We’ve already done so much in the way of awareness, and we need to make sure that everyone gets out and votes this November!  I’m sure everyone is well aware of the rapidly changing tone of the political system.  It’s important that we stand together against the onslaught that is anti-women legislation.

Okay, so I’ve ranted enough.  I hope you’ll all take this into consideration!  Let me leave you with a few links so that you know where to go from here.

Find your state

Register and Vote

Volunteer

Legislation Map

Videos

