Shout!

by wildfeministappears

Coming in under the wire, it’s the Tuesday post!

I didn’t used to be a very opinionated person.  I spent most conversations sitting at the end of the couch, watching others while they discussed their feelings and argued about who was right.  I didn’t care who was right.  I just knew that whatever I was thinking wasn’t right.  The issues might have been too complex, too emotional, but either way I knew that what I wanted to say wasn’t going to go well.

Even now I hesitate before I speak my mind.  I wonder what others are thinking, how they’ll react, how I’ll backtrack if they react badly.  None of those options involve standing my ground.  I’m too frightened of hurting other people, or making them dislike me.  Even when a feminist topic comes up in conversation, I stay quiet!

“How do you feel about the Personhood amendment, Alyssa?”

“I don’t know.  I know it isn’t working out.”

Of course I know how I feel about it.  I could write a freaking thesis on how I feel about it and what it’s about.  But I don’t want to say.  I don’t want to end up having a controversial opinion.

This is one of my greatest faults.  My mouth is shut and I am losing opportunities to solve problems because I refuse to speak my mind.

Don’t be like me.  Don’t be afraid of yourself and your opinion, because that opinion could change the ideas of another person.  They could go on to change another person’s mind.  How are others to know how harmful the Personhood amendment is if we don’t tell them?  Why should they change their ideas about feminism if no one tells them what it’s really about?  I know you have opinions, and I  know they are strong opinions.  I know you mean to help the world in your own way, but you can’t do that if you don’t stand up and let others know what the hell you’re doing, and why you’re doing it.

Join me in removing the duct tape from our mouths.  Silence doesn’t cause the problem, but it makes it impossible to fix it.

