Smile for Those Looking Up to You!

by wildfeministappears

Hi, everybody!  I made it to the other side of my illness, so today I’m going to be positive.

And by positive I mean I’m probably going to ruffle some feathers.

As you all know, I’m a big fan of feminism, but I’m also one of those people who likes to point out the flaws in the movement.  I don’t like the way that we handle some situations.  We tend to get bogged down in our own mess.  And we especially forget about the positive aspects of feminism and how great it is for us.

So, when I couldn’t disagree with this, I decided that it was time for me to take the appropriate actions and perk up.

There are a lot of bad things in this world, and feminists have a lot of work to do.  But I refuse to see us beaten by our own sadness and anger.  We become our own worst enemies many times by believing that we’re just going to be destroyed.  I, for one, am not surprised when we lose a fight.  I expect it.  And that should make me angrier than anything else.  It should put more fire into me than hearing the opponents spewing hate at us.  Because if I’m giving up on my own movement, why should I expect better from them?

The odds may be against us, but we’re still making huge strides toward equality and self-esteem.  Photoshopping is being cut back in magazines, girls are being giving summer camps like Girls Rock! to help them learn to love themselves, and everyday people are fighting to make equal rights available to all.  More and more women are being put into places of power!  How are we not winning?

So, stop giving up before the battle is over.  It gets us nowhere.  And stop ignoring the light in our lives.  We have a vivid, wonderful community that is working for all the right reasons.  We’re friends, sisters and brothers, and you constantly uplift me to continue in the fight.  Feminists need to become positive role models who refuse to back down, and who climb every ladder to become better.  We need to show the world that we aren’t hate mongers who just lost their joy in life.  I love my life, and I know a lot of feminists who are happy in their lives too.  Lets prove once again that we can be whoever we want to be, and accomplish what needs to be done.

