Stop Using the Enemy’s Tools

by wildfeministappears

Well, this has been bugging me for awhile, and I’m not sure if I’m going to offend someone.  Either way, I have to get it off my chest.  I’m never pleased when rape culture crops up.  I was furious about what Daniel Tosh said, and Justin Bieber’s comments made me grimace.

Although, I have to agree with this woman.  Justin, I think, was fourteen when he said this, and I don’t think it’s right to criticize a boy who’s probably just repeating what his parents said.

But that isn’t what this post is about.  It’s about how people react to these comments.  We want to stop perpetuating rape culture, and yet when someone is angry about a comment made, they hope that the person making the comment gets raped themselves.

How is this fixing the problem?  How are we helping the situation when we hope the worst on another human being because they offended us?  No one, and let me make myself absolutely clear, no one deserves to be raped.  If we want to stop rape from happening, then we have to stop using it as a weapon.  Fire does not, in fact, fight fire; it makes it worse.  And those of us offended should be the last to stoop to the level of hoping rape on another person.  If the people who want to stop rape culture are the ones perpetuating it, then we have no chance of eliminating it.

So, I’m pleading with you.  The next time you are upset with someone for saying horrible things, don’t use the same words.  We have a plethora of other words to use to fight against cruel comments.  I want this world to be better, and I know we dream of a world where rape doesn’t even come up, so take the first step, and don’t use the enemy’s tools.

