Stay Passionate, Feminists!

by wildfeministappears

Admittedly, I’ve only called myself a feminist since the fall of 2011, but I’ve quickly become desensitized to America’s anti-women rhetoric.  I suppose it doesn’t take long to lose faith in the system you were brought up in, especially when you immerse yourself in it.  Which is why when Rush Limbaugh said recently that women voting was the point things started going downhill, I simply shrugged it off and went about my day.  Of course he would say that.  Of course Ann Coulter said it first.  I don’t have it in me to be angry at every comment made by misogynists.

But then I started to reconsider my path in feminism.  This kind of passivity is the reason that America has moved further and further away from equality.  We allow comments like this to slide because we’ve heard them time and again.  But if these comments aren’t stamped out each time we hear them, we give the wrong people the opportunity to grow in their hatred, and bring other people to their point of view.  It may not be the first time someone has degraded women’s sensibilities, but we should be concerned every time.  Rush Limbaugh is so close to losing his base.  His show is being dropped in certain areas, and many sponsors are afraid to funnel money to his time slot.  Women have the same right to capitalism as men, and we can use it to our advantage.  We can make advertisers consider who they are supporting, even passively, and companies will change their minds.  They will realize that they are giving money to the wrong kind of voices, and simultaneously give money to positive voices that will make real change in this world.

So take advantage of every opportunity you have to be passionate.  Even if you only have the chance to change one idea, stick with it, because change is happening everyday, and we need to make sure it’s in our favor.

