An Egotistical Thank You Card to the Feminists in my Life

by wildfeministappears

I’m going to bare my soul here for a second.

I’m egotistical.

I want to be that one person that revolutionizes the cause and solves the crisis that is women’s suffering.  I want people to look at me and say, “Oh my god, why didn’t we think of that?”

Don’t get me wrong, it isn’t why I got into this cause.  I really, truly want to help people.  But after each blog post, my fingers get tingly and I think, “This is it.  In the morning Ms. Magazine is going to call me to write for them and then I’m going to meet the president.”

It’s best not to ask about the leap in logic.  My daydreams always end with me meeting the president.  He clearly wants to hear from the girl in Indiana with a free blog space and (almost) two degrees.

However, I’m always sickened by the amount of daydreaming I put into just thinking about how awesome I’m going to be someday.  Feminists do not become famous all on their own.  We live in groups.  We support each other and work day and night on project after project.  The feminists who become famous have hundreds of other feminists backing them with determination and dedication.  They’ve also worked for years fighting several battles at once.  I’ve just started and I think I should be the next keynote speaker at any function, and that’s just wrong.

I know so many feminists who work everyday just to keep us moving.  They don’t ask for recognition or reward.  They simply keep going because they know that the cause is what is most important.  They live for the cause.  They warm my heart with their dedication, and some days their motivation is all that keeps me going in the feminist movement.  I owe them a great deal of gratitude.

So, thank you to the feminists who are up right now, working into the early morning hours to further our cause because you don’t have time what with the family and work.  Thank you to the people who work behind the scenes at every event, to the volunteers who train quickly to do their job, to the women’s health center’s nurses and secretaries who could be making so much more money with the skills that they have.  I am in awe of you.  I may not be humble, but I know greatness when I see it, and you are all just fantastic.

